РОО «Национальная Федерация Конькобежцев» Казахстана

ISU Junior World Cup Winner


The ISU Junior World Cup Speed Skating 2012/13 series came to an end last weekend in Collalbo (ITA) where the Junior World Cup Final took place. The series kicked off in November, in Calgary (CAN) for the North American skaters and in Minsk (BLR) for Europe. The Junior Asian skaters competed in December in Changchun (CHN). The Japanese skaters chose to skate in Calgary which turned out to be a very successful event for them. Other Regional World Cups were held for Europe on January 12-13 in Baselga di Pine (ITA), and for North America on January 19-20 in Roseville (USA). The Asian competition in Astana (KAZ) was cancelled. During the Regional Competitions skaters could win half the points than during the Global Event which was the December Junior World Cup in
 Inzell (GER). At the Final, which took place in Collalbo (ITA) last weekend, skaters could win three times the Regional Competitions points.


Vanessa Bittner (AUT) participated in four 500m races and always finished on the podium, earning herself 300 points and the title of overall winner in the distance. Kako Yamane (JPN) won the race in Collalbo and with 290 points she moved up to second place.  In third place is Doreen Lamb (GER) with 232 points. Although Hae-Ri Kwak (KOR) won the race in Inzell, she did not participate in the Junior World Cup after and ranks sixth.

Vanessa Bittner also triumphed in the 1000m winning the race in Collalbo and accumulated 280 points. The silver went to Swiss Lady Kaitlyn McGregor who got 255 points. Antoinette de Jong (NED) took bronze with 220 points.

In the 1500m Junior Dutch Lady Reina Anema won in Collalbo and earned 315 points taking the win. Yoon-Hee Heo (KOR) is second with 250 points. With 145 points Saori Toi (JPN) is third. Antoinette de Jong (NED) finished first in Inzell but did not compete in any other race and ranks ninth.

Jade van der Molen (NED) won the final 3000m race, she had a strong season and finished with 310 points.  Although Anema did not race in Collalbo she had three podium finishes and with 190 points she is second. In third is Sofie Karoline Haugen (NOR) with 147 points. 

Vanessa Bittner added the Mass Start to her successful season.  She finished first both in Inzell and Collalbo, totalling 250 points. Runner up in the Mass start is Dutch Lady Ineke Dedden, who won in Minsk (180 points), and Estonia carried honours away with the third place of Saskia Alusalu (169 points).

The Dutch ladies won the Team Pursuit ahead of Korea and Russia. The Dutch won both events, and Korea was the runner-up twice. Japan finished third in Inzell but raced poorly in Collalbo, giving Russia the opportunity to finish third in Collalbo and overall.

Although Darsil Essamambo (KAZ) did not reach the podium in the World Cup Final, he participated in six events and gathered just enough points (278) to become the overall winner of the 500m. Collalbo’s winner Junya Miwa (JPN) took silver with 274 points and Gerben Jorritsma (NED) is third with 260 points. 

In the 1000m Kai Verbij (NED) took the gold with 270 points. B-junior Fan Yang (CHN) who had three podium finishes including gold in Inzell, got a total of 260 points.  Collalbo’s winner Konstantin Nikitin (RUS) got bronze with 220. 

In the 1500m, Jeong-Su Seo (KOR) was in the lead up to Collalbo where he finished second behind Fan Yang.  Consequently Seo got 238 points and Yang 245, who took the win by just a few points. Junya Miwa (JPN) finished third with 200 points. 

Andrea Giovannini from Italy got the highest honours in the 3000m. He gathered 310 points after winning in Collabo. Seo is second with 270 points while Masahito Obayashi (JPN) stayed ahead of Fan Wang for third place with 170 points.

Gerben Jorritsma won the Mass Start with 320 points, while the runner-up Giovannini has 255 points. Armin Hager (AUT) finished third with 230 points.

In the Team Pursuit, the battle was between the Netherlands and Italy.  The Dutchmen finished first in Inzell ahead of the Italians, but in Collalbo the situation was reversed and the Italians took the win.  Team Italy totalled 230 points while the Netherlands have 220 and got silver.  Russia took bronze with no podium finish.